Oura Ring photo
Photo: Tpnkl / Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0. Background removed, cropped and resized by ChatPPG.

Device research record

Oura Ring

Signals and sensors

From the device record. Fields the source does not state are left out.

Maker
Oura
Form factor
Finger
Series
family (see Versions)
Family
Oura Ring
Signals recorded
PPG, Temperature, Accelerometer
Also called
Oura

What published studies show

Results quoted from 3 published validation studies, each against a clinical reference. A result applies to the model and protocol tested, not to every model the brand sells. From the wearable accuracy database (v1.0.0).

HRV (RMSSD)1 study

HRV accuracy across devices →

Sleep stages (4-stage)1 study

Sleep accuracy across devices →

Sleep vs wake (2-stage)1 study

Sleep accuracy across devices →

Total sleep time2 studies

  • Oura Ring−75.5 min (older adults)

    Mean bias (signed) · vs Polysomnography (PSG) · n = 19, 1 night

    Searles et al. (2026) Funding not reported

  • Oura RingGroup-level TST difference < 12 min

    Study finding (no single number) · vs Polysomnography (PSG) · University sleep laboratory, clinical patients

    Herberger et al. (2025) Independent

Sleep accuracy across devices →

More validation figures

Figures fact-checked for the brand sensor guide, from peer-reviewed studies (linked by DOI) or the manufacturer's own documentation where marked. Each applies to its own test protocol only.

Comparisons

Head-to-head pages that name Oura Ring come first, then other comparisons for the brand.

Datasets recorded with this device

Articles that mention Oura Ring

Show 28 more

Other versions

Browse the device database →