Wearable guides

Polar Heart Rate Sensors: PPG and ECG Accuracy

Polar H10 is an ECG chest strap widely used as a reference for heart rate and RR intervals in wearable validation studies. Polar's own tests found it detected RR intervals within 2 ms of ECG in 95.6% of cases across activities. Polar Vantage watches use wrist PPG, which agrees closely with a chest strap at rest and during sleep but less well at high exercise intensities.

Photograph of a Polar Vantage V3 in night black.
Polar Vantage V3 in night black: product photograph from Polar.

The Polar H10 chest strap records the ECG through electrodes on the strap. In Polar's own validation, it detected RR intervals within 2 ms of the ECG reference in 92.9% of cases while running, 99.3% while cycling, 95.3% during weight training and 95.6% across all activities (Polar H10 white paper). In an independent comparison with a Holter monitor, the H10's RR interval signal quality was 99.6% overall and stayed at 99.4% during high-intensity activities, when the Holter's fell to 89.8%. The authors suggested a chest strap like the H10 as a gold standard for RR intervals during intense movement (Gilgen-Ammann et al., 2019).

Polar's watches use optical PPG. The Vantage V3 uses Polar's Elixir biosensing technologies; its SpO2 measurement emits red and infrared light through the skin (Polar: Elixir). In recreational athletes, Vantage V2 pulse intervals agreed closely with chest-strap RR intervals (r = 0.993), with nocturnal ICCs of 0.998 for heart rate and 0.931 for LnRMSSD; the watch slightly overestimated LnRMSSD (Nuuttila et al., 2021). During a Bruce treadmill test, the Vantage M correlated strongly with ECG overall (r² = 0.87) but showed poor validity at the highest stages (Shumate et al., 2021).

Polar's Nightly Recharge combines heart rate, HRV and breathing rate measured during roughly the first four hours of sleep into an ANS charge, compared against the user's own baseline (Polar Support: Nightly Recharge).

Sourced figures

Every number in this guide comes from the source linked beside it. Each study result applies to that study's devices, participants and protocol only.

What published studies show

Results quoted from 12 published validation studies, each against a clinical reference. A result applies to the model and protocol tested, not to every model the brand sells. From the wearable accuracy database (v1.0.0).

Heart rate during exercise7 studies

  • Polar Ignite 39–14 bpm (group range)

    Mean absolute error, mixed rest/stress/walking · vs ECG chest strap (Zephyr BioHarness / Faros) · n = 45, Rest, cognitive stress, steady and intermittent walking in neutral/hot/cold chambers

    Gielen et al. (2026) Funding not reported

  • Polar Pacer9–14 bpm (group range)

    Mean absolute error, mixed rest/stress/walking · vs ECG chest strap (Zephyr BioHarness / Faros) · n = 45, Rest, cognitive stress, steady and intermittent walking in neutral/hot/cold chambers

    Gielen et al. (2026) Funding not reported

  • Polar Verity SenseStrongest agreement (with WHOOP upper arm) in graded treadmill

    Study finding (no single number) · vs ECG chest strap (Polar H7/H10) · n = 28, Rest, warm-up, burpees, Bruce treadmill

    Moghaddam et al. (2025) Funding not reported

  • Polar Verity SenseSignificantly lower MAE than Polar Pacer Pro and Galaxy Watch 6

    Study finding (no single number) · vs ECG chest strap (Polar H7/H10) · n = 37, Low/moderate/high-intensity treadmill

    Jeong et al. (2026) Independent

  • Polar Pacer ProSignificantly higher MAE than Apple Watch SE and Verity Sense

    Study finding (no single number) · vs ECG chest strap (Polar H7/H10) · n = 37, Low/moderate/high-intensity treadmill

    Jeong et al. (2026) Independent

  • Polar Vantage V2.2%–6.7% (range by intensity)

    Coefficient of variation · vs ECG chest strap (Polar H7/H10) · n = 25, Sitting, walking, running, sprints

    Düking et al. (2020) Independent

3 more results in the database. Heart rate accuracy across devices →

Overnight heart rate3 studies

Heart rate accuracy across devices →

HRV (RMSSD)3 studies

HRV accuracy across devices →

Sleep stages (4-stage)1 study

  • Epoch-by-epoch agreement · vs Polysomnography (PSG) · n = 53, Sleep laboratory, 1 night, 9 h in bed, all devices worn together

    Miller et al. (2022) Other maker funded

  • Cohen's kappa · vs Polysomnography (PSG) · n = 53, Sleep laboratory, 1 night, 9 h in bed, all devices worn together

    Miller et al. (2022) Other maker funded

Sleep accuracy across devices →

Sleep vs wake (2-stage)1 study

  • Epoch-by-epoch agreement · vs Polysomnography (PSG) · n = 53, Sleep laboratory, 1 night, 9 h in bed, all devices worn together

    Miller et al. (2022) Other maker funded

  • Cohen's kappa · vs Polysomnography (PSG) · n = 53, Sleep laboratory, 1 night, 9 h in bed, all devices worn together

    Miller et al. (2022) Other maker funded

Sleep accuracy across devices →

Total sleep time1 study

  • Polar IgniteMAE 45.08 min (overestimate)

    Mean absolute error · vs Polysomnography (PSG) · n = 49, 1 night PSG + MSLT

    Budig et al. (2022) Independent

Sleep accuracy across devices →

Energy expenditure (calories)3 studies

  • Polar Vantager = 0.69

    Pearson correlation, total energy expenditure · vs Actiheart / ActiGraph · n = 21, Free-living, up to 7 days

    Henriksen et al. (2022) Independent

  • Polar Vantage V16.3%–28.0% (range by intensity)

    Coefficient of variation · vs Indirect calorimetry · n = 25, Sitting, walking, running, sprints

    Düking et al. (2020) Independent

  • Polar Vantage V16.54–25.78% (poor in all activities)

    Coefficient of variation · vs Indirect calorimetry · n = 60, Sitting, walking, running, resistance, cycling

    Hajj-Boutros et al. (2023) Funding not reported

Calories accuracy across devices →

Polar Heart Rate Sensors: PPG and ECG Accuracy Comparisons

Research records

Device records collect datasets, papers, and the sourced figures on this page.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why is Polar H10 used as a reference in PPG validation studies?

It records the ECG at the chest, so its RR intervals are less affected by wrist motion. An independent study found 99.6% RR signal quality overall and 99.4% during high-intensity activity, higher than the Holter monitor tested alongside it (Gilgen-Ammann et al., 2019).

How accurate is Polar Vantage optical HR during exercise?

Results depend on intensity. During a Bruce treadmill test, the Vantage M correlated strongly with ECG overall (r² = 0.87) but showed poor validity at the highest stages (Shumate et al., 2021). At rest and during sleep, Vantage V2 agreed closely with a chest strap (Nuuttila et al., 2021).

Does Polar measure HRV continuously?

Polar uses HRV in Nightly Recharge, which measures heart rate, HRV and breathing rate during roughly the first four hours of sleep. Paired with an H10 chest strap, Polar devices can record RR intervals during training.

Sources

  1. Polar Research and Technology. Polar H10 Heart Rate Sensor System (white paper)
  2. Gilgen-Ammann et al. (2019). RR interval signal quality of a heart rate monitor and an ECG Holter at rest and during exercise. European Journal of Applied Physiology. doi:10.1007/s00421-019-04142-5
  3. Gillinov et al. (2017). Variable Accuracy of Wearable Heart Rate Monitors during Aerobic Exercise. Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise. doi:10.1249/MSS.0000000000001284
  4. Polar. Polar Elixir biosensing technologies
  5. Nuuttila et al. (2021). Validity of the Wrist-Worn Polar Vantage V2 to Measure Heart Rate and Heart Rate Variability at Rest. Sensors. doi:10.3390/s22010137
  6. Shumate et al. (2021). Validity of the Polar Vantage M watch when measuring heart rate at different exercise intensities. PeerJ. doi:10.7717/peerj.10893
  7. Miller, Sargent & Roach (2022). A Validation of Six Wearable Devices for Estimating Sleep, Heart Rate and Heart Rate Variability in Healthy Adults. Sensors. doi:10.3390/s22166317
  8. Polar. Nightly Recharge recovery measurement

Compare with Other Wearables