Oura Ring Gen3 photo
Photo: Tpnkl / Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0. Background removed, cropped and resized by ChatPPG.

Device research record

Oura Ring Gen3

Signals and sensors

From the device record. Fields the source does not state are left out.

Maker
Oura
Form factor
Finger
Series
Gen3
Family
Oura Ring
Signals recorded
PPG, Temperature, Accelerometer
Also called
Oura Gen3, Oura Ring 3

What published studies show

Results quoted from 5 published validation studies, each against a clinical reference. A result applies to the model and protocol tested, not to every model the brand sells. From the wearable accuracy database (v1.0.0).

Heart rate during exercise1 study

  • Oura Ring Gen39–14 bpm (group range)

    Mean absolute error, mixed rest/stress/walking · vs ECG chest strap (Zephyr BioHarness / Faros) · n = 45, Rest, cognitive stress, steady and intermittent walking in neutral/hot/cold chambers

    Gielen et al. (2026) Funding not reported

Heart rate accuracy across devices →

Overnight heart rate1 study

Heart rate accuracy across devices →

HRV (RMSSD)1 study

HRV accuracy across devices →

Sleep stages (4-stage)3 studies

Sleep accuracy across devices →

Sleep vs wake (2-stage)2 studies

Only maker-funded evidence for Oura Ring Gen3 on this metric.

Sleep accuracy across devices →

Comparisons

Head-to-head pages that name Oura Ring Gen3 come first, then other comparisons for the brand.

Articles that mention Oura Ring Gen3

Show 2 more

Other versions

Browse the device database →