Withings ScanWatch: ChatPPG research summary card

Device research record

Withings ScanWatch

Signals and sensors

From the device record. Fields the source does not state are left out.

Maker
Withings
Form factor
Wrist
Series
ScanWatch
Signals recorded
PPG, Accelerometer, ECG
Also called
ScanWatch

What published studies show

Results quoted from 6 published validation studies, each against a clinical reference. A result applies to the model and protocol tested, not to every model the brand sells. From the wearable accuracy database (v1.0.0).

Heart rate at rest1 study

  • Withings ScanWatchMAPE < 10% in all domains except shopping (10.8%); < 5% when sedentary

    Study finding (no single number) · vs ECG chest strap (Polar H7/H10) · n = 7, 12-h free-living

    Giggins et al. (2022) Independent

Heart rate accuracy across devices →

Sleep stages (4-stage)1 study

Sleep accuracy across devices →

Sleep vs wake (2-stage)1 study

Sleep accuracy across devices →

Blood oxygen (SpO2)3 studies

  • Withings ScanWatchHighest missingness: 69.5% of attempts successful

    Study finding (no single number) · vs Medical-grade pulse oximeter · n = 49, Spot readings, with and without chronic pulmonary disease

    Jiang et al. (2023) Independent

  • Withings ScanWatchMet ISO RMS ≤ 4% at normoxia and SpO2 < 90%

    Study finding (no single number) · vs Medical-grade pulse oximeter · n = 18, Induced hypoxemia (FiO2 14%, 12%, 10%), ISO 80601-2-61

    Walzel et al. (2023) Independent

  • Withings ScanWatch68.5% (spec 80.8%)

    Sensitivity, detecting clinically significant hypoxia · vs Medical-grade pulse oximeter · n = 200, Hospital ward, COVID-19 inpatients

    Rajakariar et al. (2024) Independent

SpO2 accuracy across devices →

Atrial fibrillation detection1 study

  • Withings ScanWatch58% (spec 75%)

    Sensitivity, smartwatch ECG app, inconclusive tracings counted · vs 12-lead ECG · n = 201, Tertiary cardiology service, single-lead ECG algorithms

    Mannhart et al. (2023) Funding not reported

  • Specificity, smartwatch ECG app, inconclusive tracings counted · vs 12-lead ECG · n = 201, Tertiary cardiology service, single-lead ECG algorithms

    Mannhart et al. (2023) Funding not reported

AFib accuracy across devices →

Comparisons

Head-to-head pages that name Withings ScanWatch come first, then other comparisons for the brand.

Articles that mention Withings ScanWatch

Show 4 more

Browse the device database →