
Device research record
Samsung Galaxy Watch 5
Signals and sensors
From the device record. Fields the source does not state are left out.
- Maker
- Samsung
- Form factor
- Wrist
- Series
- Galaxy Watch 5
- Signals recorded
- PPG, Accelerometer, ECG
- Also called
- Galaxy Watch 5
What published studies show
Results quoted from 5 published validation studies, each against a clinical reference. A result applies to the model and protocol tested, not to every model the brand sells. From the wearable accuracy database (v1.0.0).
Sleep stages (4-stage)1 study
| Device tested | Result | Reference | Sample | Study |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Samsung Galaxy Watch5 | κ = 0.42Cohen's kappa | Polysomnography (PSG) | n = 22, Two Korean sleep centres, in-lab PSG | Lee et al. (2023)Independent |
| Samsung Galaxy Watch5 | 64.9%Epoch-by-epoch agreement | Polysomnography (PSG) | n = 22, Two Korean sleep centres, in-lab PSG | Lee et al. (2023)Independent |
- Samsung Galaxy Watch5κ = 0.42
Cohen's kappa · vs Polysomnography (PSG) · n = 22, Two Korean sleep centres, in-lab PSG
Lee et al. (2023) Independent
Epoch-by-epoch agreement · vs Polysomnography (PSG) · n = 22, Two Korean sleep centres, in-lab PSG
Lee et al. (2023) Independent
Blood oxygen (SpO2)1 study
| Device tested | Result | Reference | Sample | Study |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Samsung Galaxy Watch5 | Met ISO RMS ≤ 4% at normoxia and SpO2 < 90%Study finding (no single number) | Medical-grade pulse oximeter | n = 18, Induced hypoxemia (FiO2 14%, 12%, 10%), ISO 80601-2-61 | Walzel et al. (2023)Independent |
- Samsung Galaxy Watch5Met ISO RMS ≤ 4% at normoxia and SpO2 < 90%
Study finding (no single number) · vs Medical-grade pulse oximeter · n = 18, Induced hypoxemia (FiO2 14%, 12%, 10%), ISO 80601-2-61
Walzel et al. (2023) Independent
Energy expenditure (calories)1 study
| Device tested | Result | Reference | Sample | Study |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Samsung Galaxy Watch5physical activity energy expenditure, 10 min | +56.76 kcalMean bias (signed) | Indirect calorimetry | n = 50, 10-min recumbent cycling intervals | Kostrna et al. (2026)Independent |
- Samsung Galaxy Watch5+56.76 kcal
Mean bias (signed), physical activity energy expenditure, 10 min · vs Indirect calorimetry · n = 50, 10-min recumbent cycling intervals
Kostrna et al. (2026) Independent
Blood pressure1 study
| Device tested | Result | Reference | Sample | Study |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Samsung Galaxy Watch5 | SBP −0.34 / DBP +0.62 mmHgMean bias (signed) | Validated cuff (Omron M4) | n = 37, 28 days after one calibration | Walzel et al. (2026)Funding not reported |
- Samsung Galaxy Watch5SBP −0.34 / DBP +0.62 mmHg
Mean bias (signed) · vs Validated cuff (Omron M4) · n = 37, 28 days after one calibration
Walzel et al. (2026) Funding not reported
Skin temperature1 study
Only maker-funded evidence for Samsung Galaxy Watch 5 on this metric.
| Device tested | Result | Reference | Sample | Study |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Samsung Galaxy Watch5 | r = 0.42 vs oral temperaturePearson correlation | Oral thermometer | n = 85, Nightly wrist skin temperature vs oral temperature on waking | Kim et al. (2026)Maker funded |
- Samsung Galaxy Watch5r = 0.42 vs oral temperature
Pearson correlation · vs Oral thermometer · n = 85, Nightly wrist skin temperature vs oral temperature on waking
Kim et al. (2026) Maker funded
Comparisons
Head-to-head comparisons for this brand.