
Device research record
Fitbit Charge 4
Signals and sensors
From the device record. Fields the source does not state are left out.
- Maker
- Google / Fitbit
- Form factor
- Wrist
- Series
- Charge 4
- Family
- Fitbit Charge
- Signals recorded
- PPG, Accelerometer
- Also called
- Charge 4
What published studies show
Results quoted from 2 published validation studies, each against a clinical reference. A result applies to the model and protocol tested, not to every model the brand sells. From the wearable accuracy database (v1.0.0).
Heart rate at rest2 studies
| Device tested | Result | Reference | Sample | Study |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitbit Charge 4 | 7.8 bpm (seated rest)Mean absolute error | Holter ECG | n = 23, Rest, sedentary, low- and high-intensity phases | Nissen et al. (2022)Independent |
| Fitbit Charge 4 | ICC 0.80 (COPD) / 0.79 (controls)Intraclass correlation | ECG chest strap (Polar H7/H10) | n = 55, 5 days free-living | Hermans et al. (2024)Funding not reported |
- Fitbit Charge 47.8 bpm (seated rest)
Mean absolute error · vs Holter ECG · n = 23, Rest, sedentary, low- and high-intensity phases
Nissen et al. (2022) Independent
- Fitbit Charge 4ICC 0.80 (COPD) / 0.79 (controls)
Intraclass correlation · vs ECG chest strap (Polar H7/H10) · n = 55, 5 days free-living
Hermans et al. (2024) Funding not reported
Heart rate during exercise1 study
| Device tested | Result | Reference | Sample | Study |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitbit Charge 4squats | 15.7 bpm (squats)Mean absolute error | Holter ECG | n = 23, Rest, sedentary, low- and high-intensity phases | Nissen et al. (2022)Independent |
- Fitbit Charge 415.7 bpm (squats)
Mean absolute error, squats · vs Holter ECG · n = 23, Rest, sedentary, low- and high-intensity phases
Nissen et al. (2022) Independent
Blood oxygen (SpO2)1 study
| Device tested | Result | Reference | Sample | Study |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitbit Charge 4 | ICC 0.32 (COPD, overnight)Intraclass correlation | Medical-grade pulse oximeter | n = 30, 4 nights | Hermans et al. (2024)Funding not reported |
- Fitbit Charge 4ICC 0.32 (COPD, overnight)
Intraclass correlation · vs Medical-grade pulse oximeter · n = 30, 4 nights
Hermans et al. (2024) Funding not reported
Respiratory rate1 study
| Device tested | Result | Reference | Sample | Study |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitbit Charge 4 | ICC 0.84 (COPD) / 0.77 (controls)Intraclass correlation | ECG chest strap (Polar H7/H10) | n = 55, 5 days free-living | Hermans et al. (2024)Funding not reported |
- Fitbit Charge 4ICC 0.84 (COPD) / 0.77 (controls)
Intraclass correlation · vs ECG chest strap (Polar H7/H10) · n = 55, 5 days free-living
Hermans et al. (2024) Funding not reported
Comparisons
Head-to-head comparisons for this brand.
